Hall of Fame Member Biographies

Herman Meinders
Award of Merit

Mr. Herman Meinders, is being recognized with a Special Award of Merit for his outstanding dedication and philanthropy to the students and administration of Oklahoma City University and citizens of Oklahoma. He attended Oklahoma City University in the 1950s. In 1970, Meinders founded the American Floral Services, Inc., an international flowers-by-wire service based in Oklahoma City. The business later became Teleflora in 2000; Meinders remains Chairman Emeritus for Teleflora. Meinders has received many awards including the American Institute of Floral Designers Industry Award of Merit in 1987, the Leland T. Kintzele Award in 1994 from the Wholesale Florist and Florist Suppliers of America, and the Century Service Award from the Oklahoma State Florists’ Association. Along with Japanese florist Jazaburo Sekiye, he co-founded the World Flower Council and was awarded its Floral Nobel Prize for service in the floral industry.

In 1992, Meinders was inducted into the Sales and Marketing Executives International Academy of Achievement for contributions to free enterprise. Other awards include the Oklahoma Commerce and Industry Hall of Honor, the OCU Distinguished Alumnus Award, an Honorary Doctor of Commercial Science degree from OCU, the Liberty Bell from the Oklahoma County Bar Association, the Silver Beaver Award from the Boy Scouts of America, and in 1992 Meinders was inducted into the Oklahoma Heritage Association Hall of Fame. Meinders and his wife LaDonna strongly believe in supporting community projects and organizations that strengthen the mind, faith and community. Among the major projects and organizations Meinders has funded are the Oklahoma Science Museum (formerly the Omniplex), Allied Arts, Community Literacy Center, Oklahoma Philharmonic, and the Oklahoma City Museum of Art to name a few. Meinders has also generously given major gifts to Oklahoma City University, the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics, the Oklahoma Educational Television Authority, Oklahoma Christian University, Oklahoma State University, the University of Oklahoma, Southern Nazarene University, St. Gregory’s University, the University of Central Oklahoma, and Phillips Theological Seminary in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and many more educational institutions and organizations.