Hall of Fame Member Biographies

James M. Miller

James M. Miller became the fourteenth president of Eastern Oklahoma State College in 1970, and retired in 1986. He earlier served in student affairs at Oklahoma State University, and was the founding president of Seward County Community College in Kansas, serving from 1968 to 1970. At EOSC, enrollments grew, new academic programs were added and three new buildings were built. Miller was selected by the National Association of Community and Junior Colleges to help evaluate junior college education in Norway, Denmark and Sweden. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal by Governor Dewey Bartlett for service to Stillwater and the state. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2002.