Hall of Fame Member Biographies

Joe Anna Hibler

Joe Anna Hibler was appointed as the fifteenth president of Southwestern Oklahoma State University in 1990. She became the first woman to serve as president of a public college in Oklahoma since the 1930’s. Hibler joined the faculty at SWOSU in 1965, and was on the Business Education faculty for thirteen years before being named division chair. In 1982 she became dean of the School of Business, and was appointed Executive Vice President in 1986. She moved to the presidency in 1990. Hibler was inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 1994, and retired on June 30, 2001. She serves on the Board of Regents of Oklahoma Colleges.