Hall of Fame Member Biographies

Joe Struckle

Joe J. Struckle was appointed in 1975 as the sixteenth president of Northwestern Oklahoma State University. He previously served at Northern Oklahoma College, and joined Northwestern Oklahoma State University in 1968 as Associate Professor of Education and Dean of Students. Under his leadership, NWOSU became debt- free, regained accreditation for its graduate program in education, established a nursing program and opened branch campuses in Woodward and Enid. Recipient of many awards for distinguished service, Struckle was inducted into the Oklahoma Educator’s Hall of Fame in 1975. He was elected to the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 1999, retired in 2000, and currently serves on the OHEHS Board.